Who would be attending PM Narendra Modi’s swearing-in ceremony?

Narendra Modi is all set to take oath as Prime Minister of India for his second term at 7 pm on Thursday.

The President Ram Nath Kovind will administer the oath of office and secrecy to the Prime Minister and other members of the Union Council at Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi in front of a large gathering of national and international dignitaries.

Over 8,000 guests are likely to attend the swearing-in ceremony, this is 3,000 more guests when compared to 2014 swearing in ceremony.

The guest list includes heads of several neighbouring countries, chief ministers of the states and a few famous personalities of the entertainment world.

The BJP have invited BJP worker who allegedly lost their lives in political violence in West Bengal over the last one year.

Leaders of all BIMSTEC — Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation have confirmed participation in Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s swearing-in ceremony. It includes Bangladesh, Bhutan, Myanmar, Nepal, Sri Lanka and Thailand besides India.

President of Bangladesh Abdul Hamid, Sri Lankan President Maithripala Sirisena, Prime Minister of Nepal KP Sharma Oli, President of Myanmar U Win Myint and Bhutanese Prime Minister Lotay Tshering will attend the oath-taking ceremony.

Special Envoy Grisada Boonrach from Thailand will represent the country at the ceremony.

Also Mauritius Prime Minister Pravind Kumar Jugnauth and Kyrgyzstan President Sooronbay Jeenbekov also confirmed their participation at the event.

PM Narendra Modi is likely to hold bilateral meetings with most of the international leaders on the next day.

The chief ministers of all states have been invited to attend the swearing-in ceremony at the Rashtrapati Bhavan. However, West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee, Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik and Chhattisgarh CM Bhupesh Singh Baghel have expressed inability to attend the event.

Congress chief Rahul Gandhi and UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi have confirmed their attendance for the event.

Industrialists Mukesh Ambani, Gautam Adani, Ajay Piramal, John Chambers Bill Gates and Ratan Tata have been invited for the swearing in ceremony. Apart from them, sportspersons sprinter P T Usha, cricketers Rahul Dravid, Anil Kumble, Javagal Srinath, Harbhajan Singh, badminton ace Saina Nehwal, badminton coach Pullela Gopichand and gymnast Dipa Karmakar would also make their presence felt.

Celebrities such as Superstar Rajinikanth, Kamal Haasan, Kangana Ranaut, Shah Rukh Khan, Sanjay Bhansali and Karan Johar have also been invited.

The mega scale event celebrating the world’s largest democracy would start a little under 7pm.