Virat Kohli Sweeps ICC Awards

The International Cricket Council has announced its annual squads for Test and ODI for the year 2018. The ICC has announced winners of its prestigious ICC awards.

Indian captain Virat Kohli scripted history for winning 3 major ICC awards. Kohli is the first player to win the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year. Here is the list of the awards Kohli won at the ICC event—

  • ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year  
  • ICC Men’s Test Cricketer of the Year  
  • ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year  

Apart from winning these laurels he was also announced Captain of ICC Test Team of the Year and Captain of ICC Men’s ODI Team of the Year.

Australia’s Aaron Finch was named “ICC Men’s T20I Performance of the Year 2018” for his record breaking innings against Zimbabwe in Harare.

India’s Rishabh Pant was named as the “ICC Men’s Emerging Cricketer” of the Year 2018. Pant became the first Indian wicketkeeper to score a Test century in England, and equalled the record for the most catches taken in a Test which is 11.

ICC Spirit of Cricket Award 2018“, was won by Kane Williamson for being a shining role model on how the game should be played, for his behaviour and setting an outstanding example on and off the field.

Calum Macleod was named the “ICC Associate Cricketer of the Year 2018” for his two ODI centuries to win against Afghanistan and England.

India’s Under 19 World Cup win was voted as “ICC Fans’ Moment of the Year 2018.”

Sri Lankan umpire Kumar Dharmasena won the “David Shepherd Trophy for the ICC Umpire of the Year 2018.”

ICC Test Team of the Year 2018

  • Tom Latham
  • Dimuth Karunaratne
  • Kane Williamson
  • Virat Kohli (c)
  • Henry Nicholls
  • Rishabh Pant
  • Jase Holder
  • Kagiso Rabada
  • Nathan Lyon
  • Jasprit Bumrah
  • Mohammad Abbas

ICC ODI Team of the Year 2018

  • Rohit Sharma
  • Jonny Bairstow
  • Virat Kohli (c)
  • Joe Root
  • Ross Taylor
  • Jos Buttler (wk)
  • Ben Stokes
  • Mustafizur Rahman
  • Rashid Khan
  • Kuldeep Yadav
  • Jasprit Bumrah