Uddhav Thackeray wins trust vote in Maharashtra Assembly

Uddhav Thackeray led Maha Vikas Aghadi government won the trust vote today in the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly.

As many as 169 MLAs voted in favour of motion of confidence, while four abstained and 105 BJP MLAs walked out during voting.

BJP leader and former CM Devendra Fadnavis led a protest in the Assembly against the selection of Nationalist Congress Party’s Dilip Walse Patil as temporary speaker ahead of a floor test for the Shiv Sena-led government.

Fadnavis said that the special session was also in violation of the rules as it began without the ceremonial singing of ‘Vande Mataram’. He also claimed that the BJP members were informed late about the session.

As the BJP walked out, Congress leader Ashok Chavan proposed the floor test in the house which the Shiv Sena-NCP-Congress alliance passed the halfway mark of 145 very easily.