Twenty-five days after becoming Chief Minister, BS Yediyurappa inducts 17 in cabinet

The Karnataka Government finally got a cabinet today, almost a month after BS Yediyurappa was sworn in as Chief Minister following the collapse of the previous Congress-Janata Dal coalition government.

17 people were made ministers including KS Eshwarappa, Jagadish Shettar, CT Ravi, Basavaraj Bommai, Govind Makthappa Karajol, Dr Ashwath Narayan C N, Laxman Sangappa Savadi, R Ashoka, B Sreeramulu, S Suresh Kumar, V Somanna, Kota Shrinivas Poojari, J C Madhu Swamy, Chandrakantagouda Channappagouda Patil, H Ganesh, Prabhu Chauhan and Jolle Shashikala Annasaheb.

The Congress and JDS had criticised the BS Yediyurappa for having a “zero cabinet”. They alleged that the administration resembled President’s rule.

The 76-year-old BJP veteran has never completed a full term in office as Chief Minister. Therefore, it was important for him to please all in-order to make an attempt to provide a stable government. In-fighting within the BJP has also been a reason for the delay.

However, the “one-man cabinet” Yediyurappa has maintained that providing flood relief in the state was top priority over a cabinet formation.

Source : Various