Top Republicans back Trump’s lawsuits on accusations of election fraud

Top Republicans have backed Donald Trump’s right to challenge President-elect Joe Biden’s victory and have echoed accusations of widespread fraud. But some aides say Trump would need to produce credible evidence soon to retain their support.

Biden secured more than the 270 votes in the Electoral College needed to take the presidency by winning Pennsylvania on Saturday after four tense days of counting, which was delayed by a surge in mail-in ballots due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Biden said in a speech in Delaware that his team was pushing ahead with forming a new administration to take over on Inauguration Day, Jan. 20, 2021, no matter what.

Trump’s accusations of fraud did not appear to be gaining traction with the public. Nearly 80% of Americans, including more than half of Republicans, recognize Biden as the winner, according to a Reuters/Ipsos poll.

Meanwhile, Judges have tossed out election lawsuits in Michigan and Georgia brought by the Trump campaign.

Trump’s campaign and Republicans have mostly sued over claims of procedural problems with vote counting and have not presented evidence of fraud in their lawsuits.

Legal experts have said Trump’s litigation has little chance of changing the outcome, and state officials have said there were no significant irregularities in the November 3 election.

Meanwhile, British Prime Minister Boris Johnson spoke to Biden on Tuesday by phone about working together on priorities like climate change, promoting democracy and recovering from the pandemic.

Turkish President Tayyip Erdogan also congratulated Biden.

World leaders who congratulated President-elect Joe Biden: Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, German Chancellor Angela Merkel, Japanese Prime Minister Yoshihide Suga, French President Emmanuel Macron, Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Pakistan Prime Minister Imran Khan, Iraq Prime Minister Mustafa Al-Kadhimi, Polish President Andrzej Duda, Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelenskiy, Dutch Prime Minsiter Mark Rutte, Norwegian Prime Minister Erna Solberg, Spainsh Prime Minister Pedro Sanchez, Greek Prime Minister Kyriakos Mitsotakis, Argentine President Alberto Fernandez, Chilean President Sebastian Pinera, Peru President Martin Vizcarra and Paraguay President Mario Abdo.