Thirteen off 15 U.N. Security Council members oppose United States’ push for Iran sanctions

The United States was isolated over its bid to re-impose international sanctions on Iran with 13 countries on the 15-member U.N. Security Council expressing their opposition.

With 24 hours after U.S. Secretary of State Mike Pompeo said he triggered a 30-day countdown to a return of U.N. sanctions on Iran, including an arms embargo, long-time allies Britain, France, Germany and Belgium as well as China, Russia, Vietnam, Niger, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, South Africa, Indonesia, Estonia and Tunisia have already written letters in opposition.

Dominican Republic has not yet written to the council to state its position on the sanctions snapback push.

The United States has accused Iran of breaching a 2015 deal with world powers that aimed to stop Tehran developing nuclear weapons in return for sanctions relief. But President Donald Trump described it as the “worst deal ever” and quit in 2018.

On Friday, Pompeo once again warned action against Russia and China if they refused to re-impose the U.N. measures on Iran.