Ravish Kumar wins Ramon Magsaysay Award 2019

Indian journalist Ravish Kumar has won the prestigious Ramon Magsaysay Award 2019. The award is popularly known as ‘Asia’s Nobel Prize’ and is among the highest honours in the region.

Ravish Kumar who works with NDTV, was honoured for his “courage undaunted” while “harnessing journalism to give voice to the voiceless”.  In his Prime Time news show, he “deals with real-life, under-reported problems of ordinary people”.

The four other winners of the 2019 Ramon Magsaysay Award are Ko Swe Win from Myanmar, Angkhana Neelapaijit from Thailand, Raymundo Pujante Cayabyab from Philippines and Kim Jong-Ki from South Korea.

Established in 1957, the Ramon Magsaysay Award is named after former Philippine President Ramon Magsaysay who represented courage, integrity and idealism.

The award is given every year to individuals or organisations in Asia who manifest the same selfless service and transformative influence that ruled the life of the late and beloved Filipino leader.

Source : Various