Pranab Mukherjee, Nanaji Deshmukh, Bhupen Hazarika Awarded Bharat Ratna — India’s Highest Civilian Award

Former president Pranab Mukherjee was awarded India’s highest civilian award, the Bharat Ratna, on Thursday.

The President Ram Nath Kovind presented the Bharat Ratna to Bhupen Hazarika’s son, Tej Hazarika and Nanaji Deshmukh apart from Pranab Mukherjee.

Bhupen Hazarika was a legendary Assamese singer was conferred Bharat Ratna posthumously.

Nanaji Deshmukh was the founder of Bharatiya Jan Sangh.

Mukherjee, served as India’s President from 2012-17, was involved in active politics for over five decades. He held several positions in Indira Gandhi, Rajiv Gandhi, PV Narasimha Rao and Manmohan Singh Governments.

Soon after being announced as recipient of the Bharat Ratna, Mukherjee said: “I’ve received much more from the people and from this country than I have given to it. I would like to express my deep gratitude to the people of this country. At the same time, with all humility, I accept this honour. I have conveyed my appreciation by talking to the President of the Republic. I also convey my deepest gratitude to the people of this country.”