PM Narendra Modi sacks many political heavy weights

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and his cabinet ministers were administered oath on Thursday by President Ram Nath Kovind, however the cabinet saw plenty of high-profile ministers sacked and left out when compared to the previous Modi government.

Firstly, Arun Jaitley had volunteered to not hold any ministry in the new government, as he wanted to focus on his ill health. Second, Former External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj seems to have opted out of the Modi government, again this could date back to her announcement when she decided that she would not the contest Lok Sabha polls due to poor health.

Rajyavardhan Rathore, Maneka Gandhi, Suresh Prabhu, Radha Mohan Singh, KJ Alphons, Jayant Sinha, JP Nadda and Vijay Goel were all left out of the Modi 2.0 government.

Rumors suggest that Maneka Gandhi could be made the pro-tem speaker who could administer oath of all the new MPs.

However, the exclusion of Rajyavardhan Rathore and Suresh Prabhu seems to be surprising. Rathore was one of the most prominent faces in the previous government who held the affairs of sports.

Another surprise exit was was of Suresh Prabhu who was the Minister of Commerce and Industry and Civil Aviation. He has always held a low profile, and was seen as one of the most dynamic and honest ministers.

Jayant Sinha who was Minister of State in the Finance Ministry, and the son of Yashwant Sinha may have been left out due as his father is a vocal critic of the BJP government and Mr. Modi. Moreover, he has often made comments or supported people who create division and disturbance in the society.

The former agriculture minister Radha Mohan Singh, may have been dropped due to poor performance in the previous government. His tenure as agriculture minister was marked with successive farmer agitations and distress.

Reports suggest that JP Nadda could be made BJP party president as Mr. Shah has become a cabinet minister.

Vijay Goel who was Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs and Statistic and Implementation may have been left out due to upcoming assembly elections in New Delhi.

Apart from the above leaders Mr. Modi’s new cabinet left out Mahesh Sharma, SS Ahluwalia, Ramesh Jigajinagi, Ram Kripal Yadav, Anant Kumar Hegde, Anupriya Patel and Satya Pal Singh.

Leave a Reply