New map of India detailing the Union Territories of Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh

The Home Ministry issued a notification detailing the boundaries of the newly created Union Territories of Jammu and Kashmir, and Ladakh.

The order comes two days after the nation’s newest union territories were formally created.

According to today’s notification, the Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir will constitute all districts of the former state except Kargil and Leh, which will form the Union Territory of Ladakh.

According to the notification, in 1947 the former State of Jammu and Kashmir had the following 14 districts – Kathua, Jammu, Udhampur, Reasi, Anantnag, Baramulla, Poonch, Mirpur, Muzaffarabad, Leh and Ladakh, Gilgit, Gilgit Wazarat, Chilhas and Tribal Territory.

The new UTs came into existence on the 144th birth anniversary of Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel — October 31 — who is credited for the merger of over 560 princely states into the Union of India.

With the bifurcation of Jammu and Kashmir, the number of states in India has come down to 28 and the number of Union Territories has gone up to nine.

The centre paved the way for the bifurcation by ending special status on August 5.

The government has also said that Jammu and Kashmir will not stay a Union Territory and its statehood will be restored at an “appropriate time” after “normalcy” returns.

Leave a Reply