Naveen Patnaik takes oath as Odisha Chief Minister for fifth term

72 year old Naveen Patnaik took oath as the Chief Minister of Odisha for the fifth time after a decisive victory in the state elections that were held along with national elections. The win made sure that Mr. Patnaik would be the longest-serving chief minister of the coastal state.

Naveen Patnaik and a bunch of ministers administered oath by Governor Ganeshi Lal at a function in Bhubaneswar. The swearing in ceremony was held in full public view in front outside the Raj Bhavan.

Minutes after taking oath, the Odisha Chief Minister took a trip down memory lane, sharing a montage of his 19 years in office.

11 cabinet ministers and nine ministers of state were appointed by the governor on Mr Patnaik’s recommendation. There are 10 new faces in Mr. Patnaik’s close circle of ministers.

Close to 7000 guests attended the swearing in ceremony, the crowds included the Chief Minister’s elder brother and businessman Prem Patnaik, sister and noted writer Gita Mehta.

Mr Patnaik’s party, the Biju Janata Dal won 112 seats off 147 seats in the Odisha state assembly polls that were held simultaneously along with the parliamentary elections.

The ruling BJP at the centre won 8 parliamentary seats, while the BJD bagged 12.

Naveen Patnaik invited the Prime Minister Narendra Modi to attend the swearing in ceremony, however Mr. Modi did not attend the function. He instead congratulated him via a tweet after he took oath.

Patnaik’s party was once an ally of the BJP and apart of the NDA in 2004 and 2009 has kept some distance from both the strongholds the BJP and Congress in recent times.

Source : Various