Cricket - IPL 2019 Sports

Mumbai Indians Win Indian Premier League Final By Defeating Chennai Super Kings By 1 Run In A Last Ball Thriller

Mumbai Indians beat Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in a thrilling last ball finish to win the 2019 Indian Premier League (IPL) final in Hyderabad on Sunday.

CSK who needed 9 runs off the last over, was bowled by Lasith Malinga who got Shardul Thakur out lbw off the last ball to clinch the final by 1 run.

With the win, Mumbai Indians lifted its fourth IPL title after previously winning it in 2013, 2015, 2017. The Mumbai Indians won its last two IPL final matches against CSK and had also won all three of its matches against CSK this season until Sunday’s final.

An all-round team effort by  Chennai restricted MI 148 runs.

Mumbai Indians who won the toss chose to bat first. But its innings struggled to get going as CSK’s typically disciplined bowling kept the run-rate in check.

Towards the the end of the end of their innings, Hardik Pandya and Kieron Pollard threatened to take the total well past 150 however Deepak Chahar dismissed the former at a crucial time and despite a quick-fire 41 by Pollard, MI could only reach a score of 149.

Chasing 150 to win, CSK’s batsmen started briskly. But Mumbai got themselves back in the game with a couple of wickets including that of Dhoni in an extremely close run-out. But Shane Watson who scored 80 put CSK in a commanding position after he took 20 runs off an over by Lasith Malinga. Towards the end Sri Lanka’s Malinga who bowled the final over took out Watson in a run out to bring in the win.

Sunrisers Hyderabad opener David Warner won the Orange Cap for scoring 692 runs in the tournament while CSK spinner Imran Tahir won the Purple Cap for taking 26 wickets.

This is Mumbai’s fourth IPL title and the franchise goes one step high of CSK which has won three titles. This was CSK’s second consecutive final appearance in a row since its return to the tournament after serving a two-year suspension in 2016 and 2017. Upon its return, CSK kept its faith in the players that were successful for the franchise and it managed to win the title in 2018. However, the Chennai today fell short of repeating the feat by 1 run on Sunday.

 Source : Various