More rebel MLAs approach Supreme Court against Karnataka assembly Speaker

Five more rebel MLAs approached the Supreme Court against the Karnataka legislative assembly Speaker for not accepting their resignations. The lawmakers are K Sudhakar, Roshan Baig, MTB Nagaraj, Munirathna Naidu and Anand Singh.

With this addition, the total number of lawmakers who petitioned the Supreme Court stands at 15.

Meanwhile, the ruling Congress-JDS coalition as well as the opposition BJP lawmakers were packed off to resorts and hotels in Bangalore and Mumbai.

On Friday, the Supreme Court asked the Speaker, KR Ramesh Kumar to maintain status quo on the resignations or disqualifications of the MLAs until 16th July (Tuesday).

If the resignations are not accepted, the lawmakers could face disqualification as their parties had issued whip.

If the resignations are accepted, the coalition’s 118 members will come down to 100 and the majority mark will drop from 113 to 105. Making it easy for the principal opposition in the state, the BJP along with the two Independents to form the government.

Leave a Reply