Lok Sabha polls phase 6 records 62.5% voter turnout

Voting for the sixth phase of the elections for the Lok Sabha was concluded Sunday. Over 10.17 crore voters from seven states decided the fate of 979 candidates in 59 constituencies in six states and the national capital by casting their votes in 15000 polling booths set up by the election commission.

The fate of several prominent politicians such as the Union Minister Harsh Vardhan, Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav and Congress leader Jyotiraditya Scindia face the litmus test today. Among other key contenders in the sixth phase were  KP Yadav, Digvijay Singh, Sadhvi Pragya, Narendra Singh Tomar, Ram Niwas Rawat, Maneka Gandhi, Sanjay Singh, Rita Bahuguna Joshi, Rajendra Pratap Singh, Yogesh Shukla, Dinesh Lal Yadav, Dushyant Chautala, Bhavya Bishnoi and Brijendra Singh.

The overall voter turnout for the sixth phase was 62.56 percent read the election commission application as on 8pm.

Voting took place for 14 seats in Uttar Pradesh, 10 in Haryana, eight seats each in Bihar, West Bengal and Madhya Pradesh, 4 in Jharkhand and 7 seats of the NCT of Delhi.

Multiple EVM malfunctioned across the states, and there were stray instances of violence in West Bengal as well. The Hindi heartland of Madhya Pradesh and Uttar Pradesh had multiple villages boycotting the elections due to anger with the administration.

The state wise election turnout for the sixth phase of polls until 8pm was:

Bihar – 59.29%
Haryana – 65.76%
Madhya Pradesh – 63.42%
Uttar Pradesh – 54.28%
West Bengal – 80.16%
Jharkhand – 64.50%
NCT of Delhi – 59.38%

Source : Various