Lok Sabha Elections Phase 3 Witnesses 68% Voter Turnout

Third Phase of India’s national elections witnessed a total poll percentage of 67.95. Polling took place across 113 seats in 13 states and two union territories. The massive poll process witnessed several instances of glitches in Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) and violence in several states, in which a man died.

The states that took part in voting were, 26 seats from Gujarat, 20 seats of Kerala, four seats in Assam, five in Bihar, seven in Chhattisgarh, 14 each in Karnataka and Maharashtra, six in Odisha, 10 in Uttar Pradesh, five in West Bengal, two in Goa, and one each in Jammu and Kashmir and the Union Territories of Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu.

In Bengal’s Murshidabad, a voter was hacked to death at a polling booth during clashes between the Congress and the Trinamool Congress. Many others were reported injured in clashes. There were complaints of faulty electronic voting machines from parts of Kerala, Assam, Goa and Uttar Pradesh.

The Prime Minister of India Narendra Modi, met his 99 year old mother before he casted his vote in his home state of Gujarat.

Several prominent leaders fate was set during these polls, Samajwadi Party patriarch Mulayam Singh, his nephews Dharmendra Yadav and Akshay Yadav, senior party leader Azam Khan and the BJP’s Jaya Prada. BJP chief Amit Shah who replaced LK Advani from Gandhinagar too witnessed polling. Rahul Gandhi’s candidature from second Lok Sabha seat, Kerala’s Wayanad also voted.

Polling in Tripura East constituency was in this phase, the poll was originally scheduled for the second phase, however, due to law and order concerns the Election Commission postponed the polls for this seat.

With the end of Phase 3, polling in 302 of the 542 Lok Sabha seats was completed.

India is conducting polling in seven phases, the fourth phase of polls is on the 29th of April 2019.

State wise VOTER TURNOUT percentage –

Assam – 84.48 %
Bihar – 59.97 %
Goa – 74.84 %
Gujarat – 63.9 %
Jammu and Kashmir – 12.86 %
Karnataka – 68.03 %
Kerala – 77.63 %
Maharashtra – 62.06 %
Odisha – 70.63 %
West Bengal – 81.77 %
Chattisgarh – 68.66 %
Dadra and Nagar Haveli – 79.59 %
Daman and Diu – 71.83 %

 Source : Various