IPL 2020 Final: Mumbai Indians LIFT record 5th title by defeating Delhi Capitals

Mumbai Indians defeated Delhi Capitals in the final match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) in Dubai on Tuesday.

Mumbai Indians have won their record-extending 5th IPL title after the event was delayed by almost 6 months due to the coronavirus pandemic and finally kicked off on September 19.

The Indians  beat Delhi Capitals by five wickets. Rohit Sharma hit 68 while Trent Boult glittered with the ball for Mumbai-based franchise in the finals.

Earlier, Delhi Capitals skipper Shreyas Iyer won the toss and opted to bat first. Iyer and Rishabh Pant scored 65 and 56 respectively as Delhi Capitals scored 156/7 in their allotted quota of twenty overs.

“I mean firstly we are very happy to be on the ground, everyone did a good job to get the tournament going, the safety of players was taken care of. I would like to congratulate all the franchises as well regarding no hiccups in terms of the bio-bubble created, all franchises were very disciplined in order to make IPL this year a huge success. I hope this championship we have won is something that brings joy to people back home,” Rohit said during the post-match press conference.

Star Players:

Kings XI Punjab’s skipper KL Rahul won hearts and also the the Orange Cap for scoring the most number of runs in a single season. Rahul scored 670 runs in 14 matches.

South African cricketer Kagiso Rabada managed to take the Purple Cap as he became the highest wicket taker of the season with 30 wickets. Bumrah ended the tournament with the second-highest number of wickets, 27.

20-year-old, Devdutt Padikkal, an opener for Royal Challengers Bangalore grabbed eyeballs for his consistent game.