India World Cup 2019 Squad Announced, Rishabh Pant Left Out

Indian selectors announced the 15 member men’s ICC World Cup 2019 squad, that begins on the 30th of May 2019. In a surprise inclusion, Dinesh Karthik made the cut to replace youngster Rishabh Pant. The squad was announced by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) Chairman of Selectors MSK Prasad.

Dinesh Karthik is the backup wicket keeper, if MS Dhoni has to miss any game.

Prasad said, “The second wicketkeeper comes into play only if Mahi (Mahendra Singh Dhoni) is injured. We went ahead with Karthik because of his experience in big matches.” There were no surprise changes noted apart from the discussion for a second wicket keeper.

The Indian team would be led by Virat kohli, and it comprises of five specialist batsmen, two wicket keepers, three fast bowlers, three all rounders and two specialist spinners.

Vijay Shankar made it for his “three-dimensional” qualities.

The 15 member squad :-

Virat Kohli (captain)
Rohit Sharma (vice-captain)
Shikhar Dhawan
KL Rahul
Vijay Shankar
Mahindra Singh Dhoni (wk)
Kedar Jadhav
Dinesh Karthik
Yuzvendra Chahal
Kuldeep Yadav
Bhuvneshwar Kumar
Jasprit Bumrah
Hardik Pandya
Ravindra Jadeja
Mohammed Shami