India win 3rd ODI to clinch series against New Zealand with two matches to spare

India sealed the series against New Zealand after defeating the hosts in the 3rd One Day International ODI. India now lead the 5 match ODI series 3-0. Today, New Zealand opted to bat first after winning the toss, they were bowled out for 243 in 49 overs.

The chase was a cakewalk for the men in blue. Captain Virat Kohli scored 60 off 74 balls and Rohit Sharma accumulated 62 runs off 77 balls. These batsmen added 113 runs for the second wicket. Shikhar Dhawan was dismissed early at 28.

Rayudu contributed with the bat scoring 40, while wicket keeper Dinesh Karthik scored 38 during India’s chase. They put a 77 run partnership for the 4th wicket helping India achieve the target within 43 overs.

All rounder Hardik Pandya made it into the squad after a brief suspension, he made his presence felt by picking up two wickets.

Meanwhile, Ambati Rayudu was banned from bowling due to a suspected bowling action.

Virat Kohli signed off the tour on a high, this will be India’s first ODI series win against the hosts New Zealand in 10 years.