Government Announce New Coins ₹1, ₹2, ₹5, ₹10 and ₹20

The Finance Minister issued a new notification yesterday on March 6th announcing the launch of new ₹1, ₹2, ₹5, ₹10 and ₹20 coins.

The ₹10 and ₹20 coins will have enhanced design to make it friendly for visually impaired. The coins were officially launched today by Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Finance Minister Arun Jaitley.

All the coins are circular except for the ₹20 coin, which is polygon (12 edges).

(The Pigeon Express Opinion –  I don’t know if this government will be remembered for their policies or schemes but they’ll surely be remembered for a complete currency makeover.)