Elections 2019: 63 percentage voter turnout recorded in phase 4 of the Lok Sabha elections

Polling for 72 parliamentary constituencies concluded in nine states of India in the fourth phase of national elections.

Voting took place in 17 seats in Maharashtra, 13 each in Rajasthan and Uttar Pradesh, eight in West Bengal, six each in Madhya Pradesh and Odisha, five in Bihar, three in Jharkhand and a part of the Anantnag constituency in Jammu and Kashmir.

In all, the fate of 961 candidates was sealed today including that of the union Ministers Giriraj Singh, Subhash Bhamre, S.S. Ahluwalia and Babul Supriyo of the BJP and former Union Ministers Salman Khurshid and Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury of the Congress.

Among other prominent faces that face litmus test today were Kanhaiya Kumar (CPI), Baijayant Panda (BJP), Urmila Matondkar (Congress), Dimple Yadav (Samajwadi Party), Satabdi Roy (TMC) and Milind Deora (Congress).

Close to 12.79 crore people are eligible to cast their vote in 1.4 lakh polling booths set up by the election commission. With the end of phase 4, elections for all the Lok Sabha seats in Maharashtra concluded.

Voter turnout recorded upto 9:42 pm recorded was 63.18 percentage.

Bihar – 59. 02 %
Jammu and Kashmir – 9.79 %
Madhya Pradesh – 69.53 %
Maharashtra – 55.56 %
Odisha – 64.24 %
Rajasthan – 67.91 %
Uttar Pradesh – 58.86 %
West Bengal – 76.72 %
Jharkhand – 64.38 %

Updated 21:55 IST