Elections 2019: Phase 2 polling records 67% voter turnout

Millions of Indians would vote in India’s second phase of polling on the 18th of April 2019. 95 Lok Sabha seats across 11 states and Union Territory of Puducherry are voting in this round.

Polling is currently underway in 14 seats in Karnataka, 38 seats in Tamil Nadu, 10 in Maharashtra, 8 in Uttar Pradesh, 5 each in Assam, Bihar and Odisha, 3 each in Chhattisgarh and West Bengal, 2 in Jammu and Kashmir and 1 seat each in Manipur and Puducherry.

Apart from voting in 38 Lok Sabha seats in Tamil Nadu, polling in 18 vacant state assembly seats would also decide the fate of the AIADMK government led by E Palaniswami and his deputy O Panneerselvam. The voting for the Lok Sabha seat of Vellore was cancelled after huge amount of cash from alleged associates of DMK candidate Kathir Anand, the son of DMK treasurer Durai Murugan in two raids. In Tamil Nadu alone the Election Commission have seized over INR₹ 500 crore in cash.

Lok Sabha and state assembly polls in Odisha are taking simultaneously. Chief Minister and BJD president Naveen Patnaik, who is seeking a fifth term is a contestant from Hinjili and Bijepur.

Polling in one seat of Tripura has been postponed because of security concerns.

Popular faces whose fate would be decided today are Union ministers Jitendra Singh, Jual Oram, Sadananda Gowda and Pon Radhakrishnan. Former Prime Minister HD Deve Gowda and former ministers Dayanidhi Maran and A Raja, and DMK leader Kanimozhi are also among today’s candidates. Actor-turned-politician Hema Malini who is star candidate from Mathura in Uttar Pradesh.

There was intense campaigning for the second phase of polling by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP chief Amit Shah, Congress president Rahul Gandhi and a number of Union ministers. Controversial speeches by four top faces, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, Union minister Maneka Gandhi, BSP chief Mayawati and Samajwadi Party candidate Azam Khan, were also temporarily banned from campaigning.

Phase 2 over all recorded a 67 percentage voter turnout.

As per election commission the voting percentage state wise updated until 9 pm was :-

Assam – 76.22 %

Bihar – 62.04 %

Jammu and Kashmir – 45.64 %

Karnataka – 67.84 %

Maharashtra – 61.76 %

Manipur – 77.93 %

Odisha – 57.97 %

Tamil Nadu – 70.15 %

Uttar Pradesh – 62.06 %

West Bengal – 76.42 %

Chattisgarh – 72.45 %

Puducherry – 77.49 %

 Updated 10 pm IST : Voter percentage for phase 2