Delhi Assembly Elections On February 8, Results On February 11

The Chief Election Commissioner, Sunil Arora announced that the Delhi Assembly elections would be held on February 8 and counting will take place on February 11.

Arora added that the Election Commission (EC) was committed to “fair polls” and said 13,000 polling stations would be set up and nearly 90,000 officials would be deployed to ensure everything goes smoothly.

The EC also confirmed that the model code of conduct was in force with immediate effect. The poll body also reminded the government that no state-specific schemes could be announced during the Budget speech on February 1

The term of the 70-member Delhi Assembly ends February 22 and a new government must be in place before that date.

Chief Minister Kejriwal’s AAP is seeking re-election after recording winning 67 of 70 seats in 2015. AAP emerged with 54.3 percent of the vote share. The BJP was second with 32.3 percent and the Congress trailed with a poor 9.7 percent.

AAP, the BJP and the Congress are the three main contenders in the upcoming elections.

Over 14.6 million people are eligible to vote in the 2020 Delhi Assembly polls on the February 8.