Court finds four guilty for 2008 Jaipur serial blasts

A Jaipur court on Wednesday pronounced its verdict in the 2008 Jaipur serial blasts case convicting four accused while one was acquitted. The four accused were held guilty on charges under different sections including the Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act.

The four accused – Sarvar Aazmi, Mohammad Saif, Saifur Rahman and Salman – were held guilty in the case by the court whereas Shahbaz Hussain was held not guilty.

Earlier, in February 2018, Delhi Police’s Special Cell arrested an Indian Mujahideen (IM) terrorist Ariz Khan alias Junaid. Junaid is suspected chief executioner of serial blasts in Delhi, Jaipur and Ahmedabad in the year 2008 and UP Court blasts.

Prior to the Jaipur blasts, he along with Atif Ameen went to Udupi to collect explosives.

In Udupi, Riyaz Bhatkal and Yasin Bhatkal met them at a hotel and gave them C-shape/boat shape structure and a large number of detonators.

They reached Jaipur some 10 days prior to the blasts in three separate teams. After conducting recce of their prospective targets, they returned to Delhi.

On the day of the blasts, they took 10 IEDs separately to plant at pre-decided locations. Nine blasts took place whereas one IED failed to explode.

Official reports confirmed 63 dead with 216 or more people injured.

Leave a Reply