Elections 2019 Politics

Congress Returns Favour, Leaves 7 Seats For Akhilesh And Mayawati’s Alliance In UP

The Congress on Sunday said that it won’t contest seven seats in Uttar Pradesh in the upcoming Lok Sabha polls, the party intends to leave them for the Mayawati and Akhilesh Yadav’s alliance.

The seats include Mainpuri from where the Samajwadi Party leader Mulayam Singh Yadav is contesting, Kannauj from where his daughter-in-law Dimple Yadav would contest, and wherever Rashtriya Lok Dal’s Ajit Singh and Jayant Chaudhary will fight, and also the seat that Mayawati chooses to contest. And also two seats where Apna Dal would be fighting.

Mayawati shares a moment Sonia Gandhi, Rahul looks on

The Congress leader from Uttar Pradesh Raj Babbar announced.

The Congress has repeatedly said that they would fight the elections in Uttar Pradesh on their own strengths after the Mayawati and Akhilesh Yadav alliance failed to leave any seat for the Congress apart from Raebareli and Amethi. The BSP-SP alliance will fight 38-37 seats respectively.

The relations between Akhilesh Yadav and the Congress worsened after the results of the 2017 assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh. Mayawati is upset because talks with the party for a pre-poll alliance failed during the state elections in Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Rajasthan in December last year.