Congress Release First Candidate List, Leave out only Gandhi family member Priyanka

The Congress Party released a 15 member candidate list who would be contesting in the upcoming Lok Sabha polls this summer. The list had 4 names from Gujarat, and 11 from Uttar Pradesh.

The list had the two most prominent names of the Gandhi family, Rahul Gandhi and Sonia Gandhi. Congress President Rahul Gandhi will contest from his current seat Amethi, while his mother Sonia Gandhi will fight from Raebareli. This is the families strong hold since 2004.

It was just Raebareli and Amethi that the Congress party retained in 2014 general elections, all the other 78 seats from Uttar Pradesh were bagged by BJP.

The 15 member candidate list does not mention the name of Priyanka Gandhi Vadra, there were speculations that Mrs. Vadra would contest from her mother’s constituency Raebareli.

The Congress are adamant to contest all the 80 Lok Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh this elections, after their alliance  SP-BSP left just just Amethi and Rae Bareli for them.

Among other names revealed were of Salman Khurshid, who will contest from Farrukhabad and RPN Singh will contest from Kushi Nagar.

The other members in the list for UP were Imran Masood from Saharanpur, Jitin Prasad from Dhaurahra, Annu Tandon from Unnao, Rajaram Pal from Akbarpur, Brij Lal Khabri from Jalaun and Nirmal Khatri from Faizabad.

In Gujrat, Bharatsinh Solanki from Anand, Raju Parmar from Ahmedabad West seat, Prashant Patel from Vadodara, and Ranjit Mohansinh Rathwa from Chhota Udaipur seat.