BS Yediyurappa sworn in as Karnataka’s 19th Chief Minister

Karnataka BJP chief, BS Yeddyurappa was sworn in as the 19th chief minister of Karnataka on Friday, three days after the HD Kumaraswamy led Congress-Janata Dal Secular coalition failed the floor test.

Before his swearing in ceremony, he 76-year-old changed the spelling of his name from “Yeddyurappa” to “Yediyurappa”. This is supposed to be due to superstition beliefs, moreso because his first term lasted one week, the second term, lasted three years and his third term was just 48 hours long.

Yeddyurappa met with Governor Vajubhai Vala early Thursday morning  to stake claim and urged him to schedule an oath ceremony today. The Governor has given BSY seven days to prove his majority in the state assembly. However, the confident newly sworn in chief minister said prove his majority in the Assembly at 10 am on Monday.

The BJP, with the support of 106 lawmakers, is six short of a majority. However, rebel lawmakers whose resignations brought down the Congress-JDS government of HD Kumaraswamy would back the BJP.

The Congress and JDS, which lost power on Tuesday, boycotted what its leaders called an “unholy event”. They described Yediyurappa as a “corruption icon and former Jail Bird” in a tweet, the Karnataka Congress accused him of using “his excellent Horse Trading skills to subvert democracy and come to power”. The party said “the people of Karnataka remember his disastrous tenure as CM between 2008-2011, which ended with BSY (Yediyurappa) in Jail. History is all set to repeat again.”

Source : Various