BCCI removes MS Dhoni’s name from central contracts amid retirement rumours

The BCCI announced their central contracts for the season 2019-20 and have left out the former India captain MS Dhoni from all four categories, a press release sent out on Thursday confirmed.

Dhoni, who has not played since the World Cup semi-final defeat to New Zealand in Manchester, was in Category A last year. This move by BCCI raises more questions about the future of the former captain. The BCCI President Sourav Ganguly, who was took up the post in October last year, has since maintained that the selectors, Dhoni and the team management have spoken about the matter and will address it accordingly.

The payment structures for all the four categories remain the same, with the trio of captain Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah retaining their top category A+ contracts and will get a payout of 7 crore.

KL Rahul has been promoted to Grade A while the likes of Navdeep Saini, Mayank Agarwal (Grade B), Shreyas Iyer, Washington Sundar and Deepak Chahar have been rewarded with annual contracts as well.

R Ashwin, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane and Ishant Sharma, who have in recent years played only Test cricket, are in Grade A. Wriddhiman Saha, meanwhile, is in Grade B.

Grade A+ (INR 7 CR): Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah

Grade A (INR 5 Cr): R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, KL Rahul, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Kuldeep Yadav, Rishabh Pant

Grade B (INR 3 Cr): Wriddhiman Saha, Umesh Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Hardik Pandya, Mayank Agarwal

Grade C (INR 1 CR): Kedar Jadhav, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, Manish Pandey, Hanuma Vihari, Shardul Thakur, Shreyas Iyer, Washington Sundar