Elections 2019

Akhilesh Yadav will contest Lok Sabha from father’s Azamgarh seat

Samajwadi Party released a fresh list of candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections. SP chief Akhilesh Yadav will contest Lok Sabha from from Azamgarh seat in Uttar Pradesh, the party announced on Sunday. The Azamgarh seat is currently held by his father Mulayam Singh Yadav.

The SP list also said that the party will field senior leader Mohammed Azam Khan from Rampur.

The list was released by senior SP leader Ram Gopal Yadav. It carried the names of party chief Akhilesh Yadav, Azam Khan, Dimple Yadav and Jaya Bachchan among others, besides Ram Gopal Yadav himself. The Samajwadi Party have fielded Mulayam Singh Yadav from Mainpuri seat.

The Yadav family have distributed most of the tickets within the family itself. Akhilesh Yadav’s cousins, Dharmendra Yadav and Akshay Yadav. Dharmendra Yadav will fight from Badaun, Akshay Yadav will contest from Firozabad.

Dharmendra Yadav is the son of Ram Gopal Yadav. Ram Gopal Yadav will contest again from the seat that he has won thrice. Akhilesh Yadav’s wife, Dimple Yadav its candidate from Kannauj.

In Uttar Pradesh the Samajwadi Party, Bahujan Samaj Party and Rashtriya Lok Dal entered into a pre-poll alliance  for the April-May Lok Sabha polls. As per the agreement Samajwadi Party will contest 37 of 80 Lok Sabha seats in UP.

The chief of the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) Mayawati, last week announced that said she would not contest the Lok Sabha elections. However her party, BSP will contest on 38 seats, the RLD will fight from three seats. The SP-BSP-RLD alliance had left two seats for the Congress in Amethi and Rae Bareli.

The Samajwadi Party and the BSP will hold a multiple joint rallies, the first being on the 7th of April in Uttar Pradesh’s Deoband town.