5 New Governors Appointed, Tamil Nadu BJP Chief Tamilisai Soundararajan Gets Telangana

The BJP chief of Tamil Nadu state Dr Tamilisai Soundararajan and former Union minister Bandaru Dattatreya are among the five new Governors announced by President Ram Nath Kovind today.

Soundararajan has been appointed the Governor of Telangana — having a separate Governor is a first for Telangana. Whereas, Bandaru Dattatreya has been put in charge of Himachal Pradesh, replacing Kalraj Mishra.

Besides these two, former union minister Arif Mohammad Khan has been appointed the Governor of Kerala and Bhagat Singh Koshyari as the Governor of Maharashtra.

Kalraj Mishra, who was the Governor of Himachal Pradesh, has been asked to replace Kalyan Singh in Rajasthan.

The surprise in the list was the inclusion of Tamilisai Soundararajan, who was incharge of the BJP in Tamil Nadu where it had practically zero presence in the state. Therefore, this is seen a huge gamble for the BJP.

List of appointments made by the President: 

Bhagat Singh Koshyari – Governor of Maharashtra

Arif Mohammad Khan – Governor of Kerala

Kalraj Mishra – Governor of Rajasthan

Dr Tamilisai Soundararajan – Governor of Telangana

Bandaru Dattatreya – Governor of Himachal Pradesh

Source : Various